Sustainability Studies Advisory Council

The Sustainability Studies Advisory Council (SSAC) consists of Mason’s faculty committed to the pursuit of sustainability in their pedagogy, scholarship and/or community service activities. Membership is open to all Mason faculty.

The SSAC provides insights and guidance to the Provost Office Sustainability Coordinator for organizing activities and initiatives to promote sustainability studies across  the curriculum and sustainability-related interdisciplinary scholarship. Members are also invited to participate with other faculty and students in an electronic discussion list focussed on sustainability studies. Please contact the sustainability coordinator to be added to this list.

The Sustainability Coordinator serves as Chair for the SSAC. The Dean or Director of each academic unit to sign the inter-collegiate SSAC MOU has option to appoint one of the unit’s faculty members to represent it as an SSAC officer. Current SSAC chair and officers can be found below:


Dr. Dann Sklarew
Provost Office Sustainability Coordinator
College of Science representative to the SSAC
Department of Environmental Science and Policy

Prof. Andrew Wingfield
New Century College

Dr. Erin Peters
College of Education and Human Development representative to the SSAC

Dr. Sylvia Vitazkova
College of Humanities and Social Sciences representative to the SSAC
New Century College

Dr. Hun Lee
School of Management representative to the SSAC
Strategic Management

Dr. Todd La Porte
Director, Project on Long-Term Governance
School for Public Policy representative to the SSAC

Prof. Mark Cooley
College of Visual and Performing Arts Representative to the SSAC
School of Art

Dr. Gabriella Petrick
College of Health and Human Services Representative to the SSAC
Department of Nutrition and Food Studies

Dr. Mara Schoeny
Director, S-CAR Graduate Certificate Program
School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution Representative to the SSAC

Dr. Kristin Samuelian
Honors College representative to the SSAC
Department of English

Dr. Colin Reagle
Volgenau School of Engineering representative to the SSAC

Dr. Robert Ehrlich
Energy and Sustainability Concentration Head for the Masters of Interdisciplinary Studies (MAIS)
Director, Renewable Energy Minor
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Mr. Greg Hero
Executive Director, Graduate Certificate in Sustainability and the Environment
Center for Real Estate Entrepreneurship